Board Governance

Passionate Leadership and Governance

The University Hospital Foundation Board is passionate about changing and saving lives through philanthropy. Through governance oversight of the Board and the philanthropy of our community, the University Hospital Foundation ignites brilliant minds who research and deliver patient care in a unique environment: the academic health centre.

Dr. Shelley Scott, Current Board Chair
of the University Hospital Foundation

Board of Trustees

The University Hospital Foundation is a catalyst for Alberta Health Services and the University of Alberta to bring together the best and brightest talent in the University of Alberta Hospital, the Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute and the Kaye Edmonton Clinic. The Board Members of the University Hospital Foundation serve as important ambassadors for leading edge research, care and health system transformation.

Dr. Shelley Scott

MD, FRCP(C) Retired

Board Chair

Joette Decore

Past Chair

Beth Allard-Clough

Director of Community Relations, Allard Foundation

Chair for Funding Priorities Committee

Peter Bevilacqua, CPA, CA

Partner, Sorrell Financial

Governance Committee

Chris Burrows, FCA, FCPA

CFO, Go Auto

Chair for Finance and Investment Committee

George Cantalini

CEO & Founder, Cantiro

Finance and Investment Committee

Phyllis Clark

Finance and Investment Committee

Chris Gower

COO, Buildings, PCL Construction

Funding Priorities Committee

Ross Haffie, CPA

Ernst & Young LLP

Finance and Investment Committee

Daniel Hanna

CEO, Parkwood Master Builders

Funding Priorities Committee

Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn

Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Alberta

Ex-Officio Board Member

Dwayne Hunka

President & CEO, Hunka Capital Corp. & DHI Group Inc.

Funding Priorities Committee

Naïla Jivraj, BSW, MHRM

Director of Human Resources, Marble Group

Governance Committee

Cathy Osborne

Senior Operating Officer, UAH/MAZ/ KEC

Ex-Officio Board Member

Dr. David Zygun

Medical Director, Edmonton Zone, Alberta Health Services

Ex-Officio Board Member

Paul Verhesen, P. Eng.

Partner, Clark Builders

Chair, Governance Committee

David Tam

Partner, Parlee McLaws

Governance Committee member

Carla Woodward

RBC. Finance & Investment Committee member

VP Real Estate Markets


COVID-19 changed everything late in the fiscal year; however, UHF continued to provide resilient financial leadership and strong stewardship of donor funds.

Don Wheaton, Board Member

Emeritus Board Members

Robert Bessette, FMA, ICD.D

Bessette Wealth Management, RBC

Emeritus Board Member

Jim Brown

President, Sherrick Management

Emeritus Board Member

Irving Kipnes, C.M., AOE, LLD (Hon), P.Eng.

Managing Director, Delcon Group

Emeritus Board Member

William Guy Scott, MSc, MCIP

President, Ventura Interests

Emeritus Board Member

Kim Wheaton

Emeritus Board Member